Fitzwilliam’s MPs

17 December 2010 | 12:27pm | Fri

Fitzwilliam’s MPs

John Glen (MBA 2002) is the newly-elected Conservative MP for Salisbury.

The following Fitzwilliam alumni retained their seats: Andy Burnham (English 1988) Labour, Leigh, Greater Manchester; Vincent Cable (Economics 1962) Liberal Democrat, Twickenham; Mike Gapes (Economics 1972) Labour, Ilford South.

Julia Goldsworthy (History 1997) (pictured) was the youngest MP when she entered Parliament as Liberal Democrat MP for Camborne and Redruth in 2005. She was appointed a party spokesperson on health in the same year, but lost her seat by just 66 votes in 2010. David Wilshire (Geography 1962) Conservative, Spelthorne, did not stand for re-election in 2010.

Jim Knight (SPS 1984), Labour MP for Dorset South from 2001–2010, became a life peer and is now Baron Knight of Weymouth.