Sharon White
image/svg+xml image/svg+xml

New Year Honours for Fitzwilliam alumni

Sharon White was made a dame and Humphrey Burton and Francis Habgood were knighted as Fitzwilliam College alumni were awarded New Year Honours.

Dame Sharon White (Economics 1985) was honoured for a 30-year career in public service, ending when she stepped down as Ofcom chief executive in November. She has been appointed chairman of the John Lewis Partnership, beginning in February. 

Sir Humphrey Burton (Music 1951) has had an illustrious career as a television presenter, broadcaster and producer. He was the BBC’s first head of music and arts, has won two BAFTAs, four Emmies and a Sony Gold Award. 

Sir Francis Habgood (Applied Criminology & Police Management 2003) was knighted for services to policing. He was lately chief constable of Thames Valley Police.

Detailed profiles of the trio are among those of the high awards on the Government website

Adrian Gault (Economics 1977) was awarded an OBE for services to the environment and tackling climate change. 

Adrian spent 10 years as chief economist at the Committee on Climate Change, where he is now working as chief assurance officer.

If you know of any other Fitzwilliam members who featured in the New Year Honours, please let us know by emailing

Other News
Alumnus converts PhD into book
When Simon Adler (History 2011) embarked on his PhD, he wanted to turn it into a book to make it easily available to other scholars and to a wider readership.
A show of support from around the world
Alumni in North America and East Asia have demonstrated their huge support for Fitzwilliam and its projects over the last two months in two special ca
New resource teaches children about water conservation
Students and teachers now have free access to a new curriculum on water security and sustainability, which incorporates engagement with climate change